West Virginia Film Workforce & Crew
Do you need production personnel or equipment for your project? Take a look at our Production Directory for positions and gear. West Virginia has experienced production personnel and vendors that are film-friendly and know the lay of the land.
Doing Business in West Virginia
When filming in West Virginia, all business prospects are required to register to do business with both the WV Secretary of State and the WV Tax Department. Sole Proprietors only need register with the Tax Department.
The WV Secretary of State’s Office offers an optional and convenient online registration portal that provides immediate and accurate integration of applicant’s filings into the Secretary of State’s database. An easy step-by-step process for each participating state agency (Secretary of State, Tax Department and Unemployment Compensation) culminates with registration and payment of any applicable registration fees by credit card.For companies doing business for less than 30 days, the Secretary of State may grant an exemption from certificate of authority. To determine eligibility for this exemption, submit a $25 filing fee with appropriate application to the Secretary of State’s Office.
- Toll-Free (US): 866-767-8683
- Business and Licensing: 304-558-8000
- Business Registration Unit: 304-558-3333
- Sales Tax Unit: 304-558-8639
- All persons or entities conducting business in West Virginia must register with the Tax Department, if not using the one-stop Business4WV.com portal above.
- WorkForce West Virginia Main: 304-558-7024
- WorkForce West Virginia is the state’s unemployment agency and the entity that collects required unemployment insurance. Contact the agency for more details.
- With limited exceptions, workers’ compensation coverage is mandatory for all employers who employ one or more employees in West Virginia. Employers must purchase workers’ compensation insurance from a private insurance carrier. The list of registered workers’ compensation insurance carriers is available through the WV Offices of the Insurance Commissioner.
- Toll-Free (US): 888-879-9842
- Main: 304-558-3386
Right to Work
As of July 1, 2016, West Virginia is a right-to-work state. For details about the West Virginia Workplace Freedom Act, see W.Va. Code §§21-5G-1, et seq. See also W.Va. Code §§21-1A-3, et seq. (Rights of Employees) and W.Va. Code §§21-1A-4, et seq. (Unfair Labor Practices).
Child Labor Laws
W.Va. Code §§21-6-1, et. seq. A brief overview of Child Labor Laws is included below. For specific questions, contact the West Virginia Division of Labor, Wage and Hour section, at 304-558-7890. See also W.Va. Code §21-6-7 for Child Labor – Hours and Days of Employment.
Child Labor Permits
Age specific guidelines for the employment of children in West Virginia are as follows:
13 years of age and younger: No permits are required for actors or performers in motion pictures, theatrical, radio or television productions. (Note, minors 13 years of age and younger cannot be gainfully employed in any occupation except in the exempt occupations – such as actors/performers – identified in W.Va. Code §21-6-1.)
14-15 years of age: Work Permits are required for persons 14-15 years of age (various restrictions associated with work hours; restricted to non-hazardous occupations). Work permits are obtained from the Boards of Education in the counties in which the students live. A copy of the work permit is forwarded to the WV Division of Labor, which is charged with the responsibility of assuring the minor is not working in an unsafe environment or performing duties not suitable to their age.
16-17 years of age: Although not a requirement of law, employers may require proof of age for persons 16-17 years of age (work hours unrestricted; may not drive motor vehicles as principal part of employment or for delivery purposes; work limited to age appropriate non-hazardous occupations).
Age certificates are obtained from the Boards of Education in the counties in which the students live. A copy of the age certificate is forwarded to the WV Division of Labor, which is charged with the responsibility of assuring the minor is not working in an unsafe environment or performing duties not suitable to their age.Work permit and age certificate forms are available from both the County Boards of Education and the Division of Labor’s website: www.labor.wv.gov.